The seven scholars were welcomed over a canape with special guest Jan Fischer, whose generous support has made the Scholarships a possibility. We were also joined both online and in-person by representatives of the Kofi Annan Foundation and the Weidenfeld-Hoffman Foundation.  

The Kofi Annan Scholarships have been named for the former Secretary-General of the United Nations and Nobel Peace Prize winner, Kofi Annan (1938-2018), a figure whose name provides inspiration and honour to those in receipt of it, and which reflects the intended purpose of the scholarships – educating people to make the world a better place. Through these scholarships, our College aims to inspire and transform the world view of the recipients in a similar way to Kofi Annan’s recounting of his experience as a student at Macalester College. 

Pictured below is our scholars along with Principal Helen Mountfield KC, Jan Fischer and Weidenfeld-Hoffmann Foundation representative.