The Gold Medal was first awarded in 1824 and previous winners include Albert Einstein, Edwin Hubble, Arthur Eddington and Stephen Hawking.  

Since 1964 there have only been two Gold Medals awarded each year, one for geophysics and one for astronomy. Famously known for discovering pulsars in 1967, Dame Jocelyn has been awarded the Society’s highest honour for her outstanding contributions to astronomy. In addition, she is recognised as an advocate for widening participation and supporting under-represented groups in Physics.

Royal Astronomical Society President Professor Emma Bunce said:

“I’m delighted that we can recognise the wealth of talent in astronomy and geophysics through our prestigious awards and medals. In the midst of a challenging time, we should not lose sight of the achievements of the stars of our science community, inspiring us by answering the deep questions about the Earth beneath our feet and the Universe around us. My congratulations to all the winners!”

Find out more about the Royal Astronomical Society 2021 awards.