Charles de Agustin (MFA) and Joanna McClurg (BFA) have been announced as the winners of the 2021 Mansfield-Ruddock Art Prize.

This year’s winning artists were selected by a distinguished panel of judges, consisting of contemporary artist Edmund de Waal CBE; Global Head of Arts and Culture at Chanel, Yana Peel, and Senior Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art at National Galleries of Scotland, Stephanie Straine.

Founded in 2019, the Mansfield-Ruddock Art Prize is kindly supported by the Ruddock Foundation for the Arts, facilitated by Sir Paul Ruddock, who is an alumnus of the College. It aims to acquire one graduate and one undergraduate work from the Ruskin School of Art degree show each year for Mansfield College.

Due to the extraordinary standard of the work presented this year, an additional ‘Highly Commended’ prize was awarded to MFA student, Hogan Schia.

Through displaying works by Ruskin students in the College setting, Mansfield strives to open up new conversations and debates around contemporary art, to inspire its students and visitors, and importantly, to support some of the many talented emerging artists graduating from the Ruskin School of Art.

“We are delighted once again to reflect the imaginative character of Mansfield College in the award this year of three Mansfield-Ruddock awards to three exceptionally promising artists. As well as the two prize winners (Charles de Agustin (MFA) and Joanna McClurg (BFA)), the judges also made an additional award and highly commended the work of Hogan Schia in the MFA category. The decision to make three awards reflects the very high quality of the work submitted.

The Prize is intended to support Ruskin School artists at an early stage in their careers, and to inspire, delight and intrigue the Mansfield community and our visitors with the possibilities and stimulus of exciting modern art. 

We are hugely grateful to our alumnus Sir Paul Ruddock and the Ruddock Foundation for the Arts for making the awards possible, and to our distinguished jury for helping us to select this year’s winners”.

Helen Mountfield QC, Principal of Mansfield College